15 APR 13 – What You Need to Achieve 10-Point on Your Goal ?

0001003_cas-sw-portion-control-scale-sw-1-10_300

Last Friday, Barney asked me what “needed to happen for me to get a 10” out of 10 points in the pursuit of my goal that I had set for myself in this NLP course.

I did not have an immediate answer then. Not because I did not know what a 10-point in my goal was. I actually knew vividly what 10-point of my goal would be. However, I had not consciously broken these down visually in writing what each point from 1-point to 10-point would specifically be translated to.

I sat down to draw Likert-liked Scale. Within minutes, I established a 10-point scale. As shown below, the graphical representation would be likened to a laser, sharply focusing exactly what each point of the unidimensional scale explicitly meant for me.

1-10 Scale of My Goal

Deliberately or not, Barney’s question set me thinking ! To me, it was a simple yet powerful question because it made me pause and ponder over my goal for a second time. Metaphorically speaking, it was like using a magnifying glass to take a closer look at my goal again.

This seemingly innocent and simple sentence reminded me of the significant impact of precise and “well-chosen words at just the right time (could) transform a person’s life” analogous to the concept of the ‘Butterfly Effect’ (Connor and Seymour, p.68).

Well, it was not that we were not taught in class of using Likert-like Scale to pinpoint our milestones achievements towards our final goal. It was because such approach did not appeal nor did I see the value in doing so then in the initial NLP lessons. It was more of my perception that I felt the more important aspect was keeping the final goal in sight. But after this ‘incident’, I see the need for ‘drilling down’ into the details which helps in further crystallization of my goal. It reminded me of Walt-Disney’s ‘Realist’ mindset.

Hmm…I am now wondering…how many of us in our NLP class have established such a one-dimensional scale from 1 to 10 indicating specific milestones towards their goals ?

Source : J. Connor & J, Seymour (2002), Introducing NLP : Psychological Skills for Understanding and Influencing People, USA : Conari Press

Leave a comment